Bye

IMG_0694.JPG

Next to me is my lovely sister, and that woman looking off-into-the-distance behind me is my wonderful mother.

DSC02549.jpgHigh school has finally ended…something I thought honestly would never happen. The amount of times I thought of dropping out is insurmountable, though I knew I would never follow through with that. All I can say is I am glad it is over, I know some people really have enjoyed their overall high school experience, but I don’t know if I would be able to agree. I think what I enjoyed and took away from the experience were the people I met, not exactly at my school, but for sports events, Amnesty International events, even at the grocery store. I really do love meeting new people. I’m so ready for college, but at the same time not at all. I can’t exactly explain why because I’ve been waiting years for it, but now all of a sudden I feel conflicted.

So, goodbye high school. This was my graduation outfit, and in most schools the tradition is to decorate your cap. Being me I decided to take it a step further and add sort of a veil to it because I liked the way they look when they blow in the wind. The middle part consisted of ironed on pictures of my school’s campus, literature, and music; all things that are important to me. For graduation females wore white and males wore blue, a tradition I don’t stand by. I think there needs to be a new tradition where everyone wears the same color. I’ve NEVER been a big fan of the idea of gender conformity. Everyone wearing the same color would also show unity, something that needs much more encouragement in the high school atmosphere. A friend in a neighboring town was able to accomplish just that this year and I am so proud and so jealous at the same time. She said she did receive many words of hate, but so much love and support from people who she would have never expected to reach out to her.

Congratulations to my fellow graduates, and good luck with the years ahead.

Leave a Reply

