Promenade

Prom was about a month and a half ago…and yeah that’s it. It really wasn’t any kind of revolutionary thing, it was just prom. I had decided to make my own dress and was originally inspired to make the pink dress that Zooey Deschanel wore to some awards ceremony, but I have no idea how to make a strapless dress and how to use boning or anything complex like that. So I simplified it to the max, I was then inspired by the Carrie Bradshaw “Sex in the City” tulle skirt, but also Bianca’s prom dress from “10 Things I Hate About You.” I ended up making the dress in two hours the night before my family and I were going out of the country, because I left everything to the last minute and by the time we would have gotten back I wouldn’t have had the chance to ever make the dress and probably would have showed up naked. I pretty much just eyeballed the entire dress because I was too lazy to take measurements, and for the most part it did work out. Though, I am not as big of a fan of the dress anymore. My coworker had given me a dress to use for sewing or even for prom, but I stupidly decided not to try the dress on before prom in order to motivate myself to finish making my prom dress. Again I “stupidly” decided this because I have fallen in love with the dress. I love the vintage look and feel to the dress, but also the color and simplicity. Well maybe in another life.

(also the main purpose of this post is to pay a special homage to my red tricycle which has sadly had to be rid of due to old age and some rusting-I will never forget the day that I decided to cut off your handle-bar tassels so I could know what it felt like to be a rebel)

 

**also, also; to the man who harassed me and my friend in the Stop and Shop parking lot: Make America Gay Again

DSC02545.JPGDSC02572.JPGDSC02579.JPG

Leave a Reply

